Types of Misdemeanors in Virginia
Generally, crimes are categorized as either misdemeanors or felonies in Virginia. Both misdemeanors and felonies have their own classes, which determine the crime’s severity and penalties. Misdemeanor crimes are separated into four classes, with class 1 misdemeanors being the most serious and class 4 being the least severe.
Class 1 Misdemeanors
All class 1 misdemeanors in Virginia carry a maximum 12-month jail sentence and a fine of up to $2500. Some misdemeanors may include additional penalties, such as suspended driving privileges, court-ordered classes, community service, restitution, and other penalties. It is important to retain a criminal attorney who is experienced handling the type of crime you are facing. Common class 1 misdemeanors in Virginia are:
- DWI, 1st Offense
- DWI, 2nd Offense
- Petit Larceny
- Assault & Battery
- Domestic Assault
- Reckless Driving
Class 2 Misdemeanors
Class 2 misdemeanors in Virginia carry a maximum 6-month jail sentence and a fine of up to $1000. Although not as serious as class 1 misdemeanors, these crimes have the potential to impact a person’s life and criminal or driving record. Some common class 2 misdemeanors in Virginia are:
- Aggressive Driving
- Possession of a Schedule IV drug
- Driving Without a Driver’s License
- Displaying a Fictitious Vehicle Permit
Class 3 and 4 Misdemeanors
Those who are convicted on a class 3 or 4 misdemeanor face a maximum fine of up to $500 and up to $250, respectively. Common class 3 misdemeanors include possession of a Schedule V drug and certain property damage crimes. Common class 4 misdemeanors include Drunk in Public and Trespassing. Neither class 3 nor class 4 misdemeanors carry mandatory jail sentences.
When to Hire a Virginia Criminal Lawyer for Misdemeanor Crimes
Whether you have been charged with a class 1 or class 4 misdemeanor, it is always a good idea to consult with an attorney. Misdemeanor convictions may have lasting effects and tarnish an otherwise good record. Contact Robinson Law, PLLC today to discuss your case for free: 703-542-3616.