Decades Of Successful Representation

Fairfax DUI Defense Attorneys Strategically Defending Individuals Facing Repeat DUI Charges

Virginia’s DUI laws provide for incredibly harsh punishments for those who are convicted of multiple DUIs. While a first or second-time DUI is serious, if this is your third or fourth DUI, you’ll end up with a felony on your record if you are convicted. Not only that, but the judge is required by law to sentence you to mandatory jail time. However, the fact that you’ve been charged with a DUI doesn’t mean that you’re going to be found guilty. And that’s where we come in. At Robinson Law, PLLC, we have more than 50 years of combined trial experience aggressively defending individuals facing repeat DUI offenses. Whether it’s through negotiation or litigation, we will do everything possible to reduce the impact that your arrest has on the rest of your life.

Punishments For Repeat DUI Offenses

If you are convicted of a third or fourth DUI, you’ll face severe penalties that include a mandatory jail sentence. Below are the maximum sentences for a third and fourth DUI in Virginia:

Third-Offense DUI

If you have two prior DUIs within the past ten years and you are arrested for a third, it will be considered a Class 6 felony. While DUI sentences vary, a third DUI conviction in Virginia carries the following penalties:

  • A minimum of 90 days in jail (up to five years)
  • A fine of at least $1,000
  • Seizure and forfeiture of your vehicle, and
  • Three-year driver’s license revocation

However, if your two prior DUIs were within the past five years, the judge will be required to sentence you to at least six months in jail. And, in one of your priors was for DUI maiming or DUI involuntary manslaughter, the mandatory jail sentence is increased to one year.

Fourth-Offense DUI

The penalties for a fourth DUI conviction within ten years are harsher than those for a third offense and include the following:

  • A minimum of one year in jail (up to five years)
  • A fine of at least $1,000
  • Seizure and forfeiture of your vehicle, and
  • An indefinite driver’s license revocation

Unlike a conviction for a third DUI, it doesn’t matter when your prior DUI convictions were, as long as they were within the past ten years.

For both third and fourth DUI convictions, drivers can petition the court for a restricted driver’s license after three years. And after five years, they can petition the court for reinstatement of full driving privileges. However, these decisions are discretionary, and courts are hesitant to grant a driver’s request without a compelling reason.

Subsequent DUI Convictions

If you have four prior DUIs and pick up another, a fifth DUI conviction will also be a Class 6 felony. Virginia law does not provide for further enhanced punishment for additional DUIs after the fourth; however, a judge may be inclined to sentence you to a longer jail or prison sentence based on your history. Additionally, if your license was revoked or suspended at the time of your subsequent DUI, you will be charged with driving on a DUI-suspended license, which is a Class 1 misdemeanor.

Are You Facing Felony DUI Charges? Call A Lawyer Today.

If you were recently arrested and charged with a repeat DUI offense, reach out to the Fairfax criminal defense attorneys at Robinson Law, PLLC, for immediate assistance. At Robinson Law, PLLC, our dedicated DUI / DWI defense attorneys are familiar with the best DUI defenses and how to effectively use them to keep you out of jail and get you back on the road. We pride ourselves on thinking outside the box to secure the most favorable result for each of our clients. To learn more and to schedule a free consultation today, call 703-542-3616. You can also connect with us through our online contact form. We proudly represent clients in Fairfax, Loudoun, Stafford counties and Suffolk, as well as throughout northern Virginia.